Valerie Hubbard, AICP

Valerie Hubbard, FAICP

AICP President

Valerie Hubbard is the director of planning services for Akerman LLP, a national law firm. She provides consulting services to private and public sector clients on a wide variety of planning matters, including comprehensive planning, zoning, permitting, DRIs and land development regulations. Val has held key planning positions in several Florida jurisdictions and was director of community planning for the state land planning agency (2003-2007). Hubbard served as AICP Commissioner from Region III from 2008 until 2014, when she became President-Elect of the AICP Commission. She is current chair of the AICP Ethics Committee and a past president of the Florida Chapter of APA. Hubbard is a member of the Sunrise Rotary Club in Tallahassee. She has a master's degree in Urban and Regional Planning from the University of Florida.

Glenn E. Larson, AICP

Glenn E. Larson, AICP

AICP President-Elect

Glenn Larson has more than 38 years of comprehensive planning and management experience in a variety of communities in Virginia and South Carolina. He served as assistant director of the Chesterfield County, Virginia, Planning Department from 1991 to 2015. Larson is a charter member of AICP, and was AICP Commissioner from Region II from 2012–16, when he became president-elect of AICP. He is the current co-chair of the AICP Exam Committee. Prior to 2012, Larson served on the APA Virginia Chapter board of directors for more than 20 years, including as president, vice president, treasurer, and Professional Development Officer. He has a Master of City and Regional Planning degree from Ohio State University and a BA from Miami University. He lives in Richmond, Virginia.

Deborah Lawlor, FAICP

Deborah Lawlor, FAICP

Commissioner elected from Region I

Debbie Lawlor has more than 29 years of planning experience. She has been the chief of sustainability and economic growth, chief planner, and supervisor of land use planning at the New Jersey Meadowlands Commission. She also worked in the private sector at Edwards and Kelcey, Inc., and PQA Engineering. She has been active in APA's New Jersey Chapter and the APA Regional and Intergovernmental Planning Division. She received the chapter's Distinguished Service Award in 2009. Lawlor has participated in the New Jersey Governor's Smart Growth Task Force and Rutgers University Center for Green Building Advisory board. She has has a BS in environmental planning and design and an MA in geography, both from Rutgers.

Denise M. Harris, AICPDenise M. Harris, AICP

Commissioner elected from Region II

Denise Harris has over 20 years of land use and transportation planning experience. Currently she works for the Town of Warrenton in Virginia where she is blessed to be able to walk to work and contribute to the community she has called home for almost two decades. Harris has served in several APA leadership roles, including APA Virginia Chapter president, APA Board of Directors ex-officio member, chair of the Chapter Presidents Council, and CPC AICP liaison. She holds a master's degree from the University of Virginia in Urban and Environmental Planning.

Silvia Vargas, AICP

Silvia E. Vargas, AICP

Commissioner elected from Region III

Silvia Vargas is a Senior Associate at Wallace Roberts & Todd (WRT) and a professional planner with over 22 years of experience. Prior to joining WRT, she was Senior Planner for Monroe County in the Florida Keys. She earned a bachelor's degree in architectural studies at the University of Kansas and a master's degree in urban planning from the University of Kansas.

Benjamin Carlisle, AICP

Benjamin Carlisle, AICP

Commissioner elected from Region IV

Ben Carlisle is a professional planner with over 15 years of experience including 5 years in the public sector and 10 years as a consultant. He is currently a Senior Associate at Carlisle|Wortman Associates. He earned a Bachelor of Arts in Urban Planning / Geography at Miami University, and a Master of Urban and Regional Planning at the University of Illinois at Chicago. He also serves on the Zoning Board of Appeals in the City of Ann Arbor.

Karen Wolf, AICP

Karen Wolf, FAICP

Commissioner elected from Region V

Karen Wolf has more than two decades of planning experience in King County, Washington. She oversaw one of the first research projects in the country that established a link between urban form, transportation accessibility, and public health. She has been an adjunct professor and guest lecturer at the University of Washington. She served on the AICP Exam Committee and on the committee for the AICP Certified Environmental Planner exam. Wolf also is a member of the University of Washington Professionals Council, chair of the Citizens Advisory Committee for the Seattle Children's Hospital, and member of the King County Employee Giving Program Committee.

Marissa Aho, AICP

Marissa Aho, AICP

Commissioner elected from Region VI

Marissa Aho is the Chief Resilience Officer in the Office of Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti as part of the 100 Resilient Cities program pioneered by the Rockefeller Foundation. She leads city-wide resilience-building efforts, including implementation of the mayor's "Resilience by Design" report. Prior to joining the mayor's office, Aho held senior staff positions at two Los Angeles planning and land use consulting firms. She previously served as co-chair of the 2012 APA National Planning Conference, on the executive committee of APA's California Chapter, and as section director for the chapter's Los Angeles Section. She also serves as a board member on the USC Price School of Policy Alumni Association. She received her bachelor's degree from American University and her Master of Planning from the University of Southern California.