2009 Awards Jury

The jury is tasked with reviewing all of the award entries and identifying the ones worthy of receiving a national honor and recognition.

Carol Rhea, AICP

Jury Chair

Carol Rhea, AICPCarol Rhea is a certified planner and the Assistant Director of Planning and Development Services for York County, South Carolina. She also is president of Rhea Consulting, Inc., a part-time consulting practice that works with the public sector on planning, group facilitation, ordinances and regulations, board training, permitting, and code enforcement. She has 17 years of experience in local government planning and administration and has worked for state, regional, local, and nonprofit agencies in Florida and North Carolina.

Fernando Costa, FAICP

Fernando Costa, FAICPFernando Costa, FAICP, serves as Assistant City Manager for the City of Fort Worth. Before his appointment to that position in April 2008, he served for 10 years as Fort Worth's planning director. He had previously worked as a planner in Georgia for 22 years, including 11 years as planning director for the City of Atlanta and 11 years as a planner for the Middle Georgia Area Planning and Development Commission. Costa chairs the Management Committee for Vision North Texas, a public-private partnership that promotes smart growth in the Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area. He also chairs the Planning Accreditation Board, which accredits planning schools in the U.S. and Canada.

Quinn Fahey

Quinn FaheyQuinn Fahey is a land use planner specializing in transportation and land use plans, environmental analysis, and public involvement. She lives in Portland, Oregon, where she works at Parametrix, Inc., on a variety of community development projects. Fahey has served as project manager and planner on comprehensive land use and transportation plans, environmental assessments, visioning projects, and numerous public involvement projects. Fahey offers expertise in Community Impact Assessments, and was invited to speak at the Oregon/Washington bi-state APA conference on the topic.

Denise M. Harris, AICP

Denise M. Harris, AICPDenise Harris is a professional planner with expertise in transportation, trails, environmental, comprehensive, and current land use planning. In addition to working as a national planning consultant, she has also had the opportunity to work at state and local levels of government around the country. This experience gives her a broad perspective on the many aspects of plan development and implementation. Currently, Harris is working as a Program Manager in the Fauquier County County Adminstration Department in Warrenton, Virginia. Harris served as President of the Virginia Chapter of the American Planning Association from 2004-2008.

David Lee

David LeeDavid Lee is vice president at Stull and Lee, a planning and architecture firm based in Boston, Massachusetts. As an architect, urban designer, and planner, Lee is engaged in a wide range of transit-oriented design, mixed-use development planning, and master planning projects across the U.S.  He currently serves as an adjunct professor in planning and urban design at the Harvard University Graduate School of Design. Lee worked with a group of local and national consultants charged with developing plans for the neighborhoods most impacted by Hurricane Katrina, most notably the Lower Ninth Ward and Holy Cross neighborhoods.  He served as president of the Boston Society of Architects in 1992 and received the Boston Society of Architects' 2000 Award of Honor.

Mike McAnelly, FAICP

Mike Mcanelly, FAICPMike McAnelly, FAICP, is a Senior Planner and Project Manager for Jacobs in Dallas, Texas, specializing in transit, parking, and transportation planning. He has 35 years of professional experience in urban and regional planning for communities in Texas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Arkansas, New Mexico, South Carolina, and Colorado. He is currently serving as the Professional Development Officer for the APA Texas Chapter. Previously he was a member of the APA Board of Directors from 2005–2008.  He also has served as a member of the AICP Exam Committee and Cut Score Committee, and as APA Texas Chapter President, Houston Section Director, APA Texas Educational Foundation Board Member and Chair. He was inducted into the AICP College of Fellows in 2003. 

Frederick Stiener

Frederick StienerFrederick Steiner is the dean of the School of Architecture and Henry M. Rockwell Chair in Architecture, University of Texas at Austin. As a Fulbright-Hays scholar in 1980, he conducted research on ecological planning at the Wageningen University, The Netherlands. In 1998, he was a Rome Prize Fellow Preservation at the American Academy in Rome. He is a visiting professor at Tsinghua University in Beijing, China. Steiner received his Ph.D. and M.A. degrees in city and regional planning and a Master of Regional Planning from the University of Pennsylvania. 

Marie York, FAICP

Marie York, FAICPMarie York serves on APA's Board of Directors and is the Associate Director for the Center for Urban and Environmental Solutions at Florida Atlantic University. She has more than 25 years of planning experience and has authored more than 50 research reports on comprehensive planning, development codes, urban design, transportation, housing, and economic development. She is the co-creator and director of the Florida Public Officials Design Institute at Abacoa, which provides elected officials with urban design training. She is a Fellow of the Knight Program in Community Building at the University of Miami.