Jury and Recognition


Judging for the 2015 National Planning Awards will take place through a two-part process during the fall of 2014.

  • Jurors have the right to move an award nomination into a different category.
  • May select not to present an award in any category.
  • Contact with members of the jury to discuss an award nomination is prohibited.

The jury may select up to one entry in each award category to receive an Excellence award.

The jury may select an unlimited number of entries across eligible award categories to receive Achievement awards. The following categories are not eligible for Achievement awards: Daniel Burnham Award for a Comprehensive Plan; HUD Secretary's Opportunity and Empowerment Award; Planning Firm; Planning Agency (public sector); Emerging Planning & Design Firm; and Planning Advocate.


Recipients of the 2015 National Planning Awards will be notified in January 2015.

National Planning Excellence and Achievement Award recipients will be honored at a special luncheon during APA's 2015 National Planning Conference in Seattle.

Excellence award recipients will receive a crystal sculpture and a certificate and featured in a video presented during the awards luncheon, on APA's website, and in a Spring 2015 issue of Planning magazine.

Achievement award recipients will receive a certificate, recognized during the awards luncheon and featured on APA's website.

Previous Award Winners

Planning Pioneers

Planning Landmark