AICP Outstanding Student Awards

The AICP Outstanding Student Awards recognizes outstanding attainment in the study of planning by students graduating from Planning Accreditation Board–accredited planning programs (one at the undergraduate level and one at the graduate level, if applicable) during the academic year of the award. Each respective planning program convenes a jury to make the selection(s) and schedules the award presentation(s) at their respective school(s).

2015 AICP Outstanding Student Award Winners

Arizona State University
Stephanie-Lee Watney, Master's

Ball State University
Matthew Wilkinson, Master's
Ellen Forthofer, Bachelor's

California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
Lawrence Roy, Master's
Daniel Arellano, Bachelor's

Clemson University
Grant Sparks, Master's

Cleveland State University
Michael Mears, Master's

Cornell University
John Clint McManus, Master's

East Carolina University
Fredrick Wyrsch, Bachelor's

Florida State University
Alex Riemondy, Master's

Georgia Institute of Technology
Katherine Scott Perumbeti, Master's

Harvard University
Matthew Furman, Master's

Hunter College, CUNY
Sam Chodoff, Master's

Iowa State University
Jacqueline Ann Nester, Master's
Laurelin Elizabeth Haas, Bachelor's

Jackson State University
Arash Ghahramani, Master's

Kansas State University
Eric Conner, Master's

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Elizabeth Kuwada, Master's

Michigan State University
Sarah Jan Murray, Master's
Sean Glenn Campbell, Bachelor's

Morgan State University
Ahmed H. Almurshidi, Master's

New York University
Ali Levine, Master's

Ohio State University
Tyler W. Ponder, Master's
Victoria M. Darah, Bachelor's

Portland State University
Christine Corrales, Master's

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Gabriel Sherman, Master's

San Jose State University
Cecilia Lavelle Conley, Master's

Temple University
Jennifer Horn, Master's

Texas A&M University
Madison Thomas, Master's

Tufts University
Kristen Haas, Master's

University at Albany
Mohammed Mohammed Ali, Master's

University of Arizona
Sarah Meggison, Master's

University at Buffalo
Jennifer Whittaker, Master's

University of California, Los Angeles
Casey Osborn, Master's

University of Cincinnati
Ellen Deatrick, Master's
Justin Lightfield, Bachelor's

University of Florida
Amber Cabrera, Master's

University of Iowa
Elizabeth Minor, Master's

University of Kansas
Jonathan M. Curth, Master's

University of Memphis
Cameron V. Cooper, Master's

University of Michigan
Alexandra Markiewicz, Master's

University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Richard Wagner Figueroa Alfaro, Master's

University of Oklahoma
Danielle Barker, Master's

University of Oregon
Aniko Drlik-Muehleck, Master's

University of Pennsylvania
Lanzi Lee, Master's

University of Southern California
Rosaline Tio, Master's

University of Texas at Arlington
Chelsea Irby, Master's

University of Utah
Tamara Janine Guy, Master's

University of Virginia
Fatima Mahmoud Behbehani, Master's
Claudia Elzey, Bachelor's

University of Washington
Sarah N. Titcomb, Master's

University of Wisconsin – Madison
Carrie Sedlak, Master's

University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee
Kristian Vaughn, Master's

Virginia Commonwealth University
Nicholas M. Quint, Master's

2015 AICP Outstanding Student Awards

2015 Submission Window: March 23–May 8, 2015

Eligibility and Criteria

ELIGIBILITY: Self-nominations are not accepted for this award

CRITERIA: The department head and other colleagues of each PAB-accredited planning program determines its own criteria. These criteria may include, but need not be limited to, academic achievement, leadership, commitment to planning as a career, and community service.

To accommodate a wide range of individual university award programs, there will be three primary shipping periods. We use USPS's standard shipping rate which takes about 7-10 business days to be delivered.  Please review this schedule and allow time for shipping.

Certificate Shipment Schedule

  • Requests received March 23–April 3: Certificates ship via USPS on April 7, 2015
  • Requests received April 4–24: Certificates ship via USPS on April 29, 2015
  • Requests received April 25–May 8: Certificates ship via USPS on May 12, 2015

Letter of Nomination

The formal letter of nomination must be on university, college, or school stationary signed by the Program Chair, Department Head, or Awards Committee Chair. It must include a description of why this student was chosen for recognition.

Include in the e-mail message:

  • School
  • Name of Student (as it should appear on the certificate – APA will add them before shipping)
  • Academic Level (graduate or undergraduate) and graduation date/year
  • Name of individual and mailing address to which the certificate should be mailed; phone number; e-mail address. [NOTE: Certificates should not be sent to the student.]
  • Date of Award Program
  • If you need expedited FedEx shipping, include the account type and number that should be used. FedEx Only.


To submit your nomination for the AICP Outstanding Student Award, please follow the instructions below:

  • Send an e-mail to
  • Write in the subject line: 2015 AICP Outstanding Student Award — [school name]
  • Include required additional information (listed above) in message screen
  • Scan letter and attach to message


E-mail Monica Groh, Director of Emerging Professionals, at