Preparing Your National Planning Award Nomination

Nominate your planning work or recognize an individual that has helped advance planning within the profession or your community for a 2019 APA National Planning Award. Mark your calendars, the nomination cycle for the 2019 National Planning Awards is Wednesday, August 22, through 5 p.m. CT on Monday, September 10, 2018.

APA’s National Planning Awards bestow national recognition on your planning work, from comprehensive plans to environmental and urban design work. There are seven excellence and nine achievement award categories available for consideration.

New this year is the Resilience Award. An achievement award, this award recognizes the role of planning in making people and communities safer, stronger, and more prepared. Possible nominations could include a comprehensive plan, a program or project such as the use of green infrastructure to protect a community from hazards and build resilience, or community engagement to build understanding of resilience that leads to action. APA is presenting this award with 100 Resilient Cities Pioneered by The Rockefeller Foundation.

All of the 2019 National Planning Award recipients will be recognized during a special luncheon at the 2019 National Planning Conference in San Francisco next April. Read some tips to help you prepare a strong nomination.

Additional resources available through APA’s website:

Award Eligibility

Nomination Requirements

Categories and Criteria

If you have questions about the nomination process, please email

August 13, 2018