Kansas Chapter Planning Awards

Deadline: August 25, 2014

Awards will be presented at the Awards Luncheon during the Kansas Planning Conference, October 2-3 in Wichita. Recipients of awards will receive an engraved plaque and a certificate and will be featured on the APA-Kansas website as well as in the APA-Kansas newsletter.

Kansas APA Award Categories

All APA-Kansas members are invited to nominate a person, group, institution, or organization for one of the APA-Kansas Chapter Awards. Awards are made in the following categories:

Ad Astra Award

Recognizes an individual or institution that has made a significant long-term contribution to the field of planning in the state of Kansas. The impact of their work extends beyond the geographic boundaries of their place of business and has taken the profession of planning to higher levels.

Pioneer Award

Recognizes an individual or institution that has demonstrated creativity and innovation in using planning to meet a community need or solve a public problem. The solution must be sustainable, have public support, and the ability to be implemented. The Pioneer Award is issued in two subcategories: Urban and Rural.

Sod Buster Award

Recognizes an individual, appointed official, or an elected official who has advanced or promoted the cause of planning in the public arena. Those nominated may include engaged citizens demonstrating outstanding leadership in a community, region, or state; members of planning commissions, boards of zoning appeals, economic development boards, environmental or historic preservation councils, or other appointed officials; or elected officials, whether holding office at the local, regional, or state level. Nominations may also include the more nontraditional roles of citizen activists or neighborhood leaders.

New Horizon Award

Honors a student or group of students who have provided work that illustrates excellence in planning with attention to comprehensive of planning principles and the planning process.

Eligibility, Criteria, and Nomination Information (pdf)


Any questions about the awards categories, criteria, or submission requirements may be directed to Sara Copeland, AICP, at scopeland@nkc.org or 816-412-7855.

Previous award winners