April 10, 2013

Media Briefing Advisory

Bakken Shale Oil Boom Fallout Just May Be Start as Other U.S. Deposits Tapped

CHICAGO — The challenges in communities affected by northwestern North Dakota and northeastern Montana's oil shale boom may be just the start of what could happen in several other states if, as expected, U.S. oil shale production more than doubles by 2020.

Planners in those two states are on the front line now, dealing with the impacts of unprecedented growth and development from the Bakken Formation oil shale drilling focused in northwestern North Dakota. Housing and non-oilfield worker shortages, skyrocketing real estate values, workforce housing ("man camps"), and personal safety concerns are among the issues spilling over into eastern Montana.

Seizing the opportunities these challenges present is one way planners in the area are responding. The plans and solutions implemented in the region may help similar communities in other states — including Texas, Oklahoma, Colorado, Kansas, Pennsylvania and New York — as the country's shale oil production increases from last year's 1.6 million barrels a day to an estimated  4.2 million barrels a day in 2020.

WHAT

Exclusive media briefing audio conference call with four Montana planners who will be attending the world's largest event for urban planners, the American Planning Association's 2013 National Planning Conference (April 13-17; Chicago).

WHO

Allison Mouch, AICP, Montana Department of Commerce Community Planning Bureau Chief, Helena

Marcy Hamburg, Richland County, Montana, Planner

Anne Cossitt, President, Cossitt Consulting, Helena, Montana

Brent Moore, AICP, Planning Group Manager, CTA Group, Red Lodge, Montana

WHEN

Monday, April 15; 12 noon-12:30 PM Eastern; 11-11:30 AM Central; 10-10:30 AM Mountain; 9-9:30 AM Pacific. The 30-minute call includes 15 minutes of remarks followed by Q&A.

CALL IN NUMBER

U.S./Canada Dial-in #: 800-482-8912
Provide operator with Conference ID # 34017174

Contact

Denny Johnson, APA Public Affairs; djohnson@planning.org; 202-349-1006

From April 12-17, call 312-239-4834 or 312-239-4835