PLANNING IN THE TIME OF TUOLUMNE: Direct Democracy, Voter Initiatives, and the Planning Process

APA California Chapter, San Diego Section


Friday, October 14, 2016
11:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. PDT

San Diego, CA, United States

CM | 1.50
L | 1.50

Add to My Log


The Tuolumne Decision is a 2014 California Supreme Court decision which holds that projects adopted by voter initiative are not subject to CEQA. This event will train planners by relaying information and specific experience with how this decision may impact the planning process.

Ballot box planning has previously been called "direct democracy," and was the subject of a 1991 book written by Dr. Roger Caves (SDSU Master of City Planning program). Dr. Caves will be our first speaker and will provide overview, context, and a few case studies.

Celia Brewer, City Attorney for the City of Carlsbad, was at the center of the recent Measure A process. Celia is our event's featured speaker, will discuss the legal framework, and will also share her experience and perspective.

Don Neu, AICP, City Planner for the City of Carlsbad was a member of the staff team that reviewed Measure A and prepared an analysis of the proposal.  Don will review their process and how it was different from the typical project review/planning process.  He will share his insights on how the proposal impacted the local planning process in the City of Carlsbad.


Resource URL


Roger Caves

Invited Speaker

Dr. Roger W. Caves is Professor of City Planning. He received his BA in Political Science (1975) and master’s degree in Urban Studies (1977) from Old Dominion University and his Ph.D. in Urban Affairs and Public policy from the University of Delaware. He was formerly Director of Research ... Read More

Don Neu

Invited Speaker

Celia Brewer

Invited Speaker

Celia Brewer is the City of Attorney for the City of Carlsbad where she serves as chief legal advisor to the Mayor and City Council, the Carlsbad Municipal Water District, the Housing and Redevelopment Commission of the City of Carlsbad, the elected City Clerk and City Treasurer, all Boards, Commissions ... Read More