Award-Winning Sustainability 2018

APA Sustainable Comm. Division


Wednesday, November 14, 2018
1 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. EST

CM | 1.50

Add to My Log


The SCD’s annual Awards for Excellence in Sustainability honors projects, plans, policies, individuals, and organizations whose work is dedicated to supporting and growing sustainable communities. Speakers will demonstrate a multitude of ideas for tackling a variety of challenges and needs. The webinar will also kick off with a description of the 2019 Awards process, which will be formally announced in early November.

Speakers will represent four of the 2018 award winners:

  • Thurston Climate Adaptation Plan (Winning Category: State or Regional Sustainability or Resilience Plan)
  • Meriden 2020: A Comprehensive Plan for Downtown Meriden (Sustainable Urban Design Plan or Development Project)
  • Metro Expo Line Phase 2 (Sustainable Transportation Project)
  • The Environmental Compliance & Sustainability Department at LACMTA (Leadership in Sustainability).

Resource URL


Juliet Burdelski

Confirmed Speaker


Woo Kim, AICP

Confirmed Speaker

Woo Kim is a principal in WRT’s planning and urban design practice. His work at WRT is focused primarily on neighborhood revitalization and development of equitable communities. To date, he has planned for the development of thousands of affordable housing units nationwide, and transformed communities large and small. He ... Read More

Robert Seale

Confirmed Speaker

Robert Seale is the Director of Planning, Development and Enforcement for the City of Meriden, CT. In Meriden, Mr. Seale oversees the Planning department as well as the Building and Housing Code departments. He previously served as the Deputy Director of Planning and Zoning for the Town of Greenwich, CT ... Read More

Emmanuel Liban

Confirmed Speaker


Michael Burnham

Confirmed Speaker


Contact Info

Jennifer Koch,