Inaugural Jane Jacobs Medal Recipients Named

The Rockefeller Foundation has awarded the inaugural Jane Jacobs Medals to Barry Benepe for Lifetime Leadership, and Omar Freilla for New Ideas and Activism. Along with the medal, the winners will each receive $100,000.

APA Executive Director and CEO Paul Farmer, FAICP, was a member of the 2007 medal awards jury.

The award program was created this year to honor of the author and activist who died in April 2006 at 89.

Jane Jacobs Medal Recipients

Barry Benepe, 79, is the co-founder of Greenmarket, the largest farmer's market program in the United States, with markets in over 30 neighborhoods across the five boroughs of New York City.

Omar Freilla, 33, is committed to revitalizing the streets, economy and environment of the South Bronx, an area that once exemplified urban blight.

Read more about the winners