Student Representatives Council

APA's Student Representatives Council (SRC) is an elected body of student representatives from planning schools across the U.S. and abroad. Leadership consists of one Student Representative from each APA-recognized Planning Student Organization (PSO), and an Executive Committee made up of the Chair, Immediate Past Chair, and six regional representatives.

The goal of the SRC is to promote student engagement with APA at the national, state, and local levels, and help ensure that APA's programs and services benefit student interests.

SRC Bylaws (amended March 2015)

Join us

Run for a leadership position at one of the following levels:

  • University: Serve as the student representative of your school's Planning Student Organization (PSOs elect their leaders on an ongoing basis)
  • State: Serve as a representative on the board of your state chapter or Young Planners Group (contact your local chapter to find out schedule)
  • National: Run for a position on the SRC Executive Committee to represent students across the U.S. and abroad (elections occur every two years, with the next round happening in the summer of 2017)

Showcase your school's work:

Win one of APA's annual Outstanding PSO Awards.

2016-2017 SRC Executive Committee

Congratulations to the elected members of the 2016-2017 SRC Executive Committee!

Their terms run January 1, 2016 thru December 31, 2017

Chair – Ellen Forthofer, Ball State University

Region I – Paige Peltzer, Harvard University

Region II – Shelley Price, Georgia Institute of Technology

Region III – Sophee Payne, Florida State University

Region IV – Anna Ma, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Region V – George Benson, University of British Columbia

Region VI – Lance MacNiven, University of California at Los Angeles

The SRC Executive Committee helps shape APA's policies that affect student issues, keeps SRC Student Representatives apprised of APA programs, and helps organize student events at the National Planning Conference.

Student Representatives Council member Lance MacNiven.