Planning April 2013

2013 National Planning Excellence and Achievement Awards

Each year APA recognizes innovative individuals, plans, and planning efforts that create communities of lasting value.

In 2013, the National Planning Awards program was modified to increase the number of opportunities to recognize good planning and offer more award categories, including: a communications initiative, transportation planning, environmental planning, urban design, planning agency, and emerging planning and design firm.

We hope you'll enjoy reading about the 2013 National Planning Award recipients.

Learn more about the National Planning Awards program


2013 Awards Jury

APA thanks the members of the awards jury, which met in October 2012 in Washington, D.C.

Ann C. Bagley, FAICP, Jury Chair
Consultant, Bagley Associates

Gov. Parris Glendening
President, Smart Growth Leadership Institute

Letitia A. Gomez, AICP
American Business Line Coordinator, NAVFAC

John Gosling, AICP
Consultant, RTKL

Charles Graves, AICP
Planning Director, Cincinnati, Ohio

Regina Gray
Analyst, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

Mayor Ron Littlefield, AICP
Chattanooga, Tennessee

Lynn Ross, AICP
Executive Director, Terwilliger Center, ULI

Chase Rynd
Executive Director, National Building Museum