Previous Contests


Students had three hours to respond to a mock planning challenge by providing briefing notes to the city's mayor and speechwriter for a presentation at a fictional National Health Committee Conference. Thirty students gathered for the competition at APA's Chicago office during the 2013 National Planning Conference.

2013 APA Student Case Competition outline (pdf)

Winning Entry

Lucas LindseyLucas Lindsey of Florida State University was recognized as the winner of the 2013 APA Student Case Competition. 

Lindsey received one free year of APA membership (national and chapter dues included), free registration to the 2014 National Planning Conference, and a $100 reimbursement of his 2013 National Planning Conference registration fee. He was also awarded $100 from the APA Foundation through a donation from Mitchell Silver, AICP, who is APA's immediate past-president.

Read the winning case (pdf)


The judges also selected three runners-up, who each received one free year of APA membership (national and chapter dues included). Their entries are linked below.

Jonathan Cooper — University of Massachusetts–Amherst

Jaemi Jackson — UCLA

Abigail Ness — University of Virginia


APA thanks the panel of judges who volunteered for this year's event. 

Karen Alschuler, FAICP
George Atta, FAICP
Roger Blevins, FAICP
Craig Farmer, FAICP
Ellen Greenberg, FAICP
Mary Howard, AICP
John Keller, FAICP
Bruce Race, FAICP
Jill Sterrett, FAICP
Susan Stoddard, FAICP
Paddy Tillet, FAICP
Ryan Walsh, AICP