News Release: March 24, 2020

53 Planners Welcomed Into College of Fellows

CHICAGO (March 24, 2020) — Fifty-three individuals have been welcomed into the College of Fellows, the highest honor bestowed upon a member of the American Institute of Certified Planners, the professional institute of the American Planning Association (APA).

These individuals were nominated by their peers, recognizing and honoring their unique contributions to the planning profession and the communities in which they work. The 2020 Class, of which 40 percent are women, represents 28 states and Puerto Rico.

Eligibility for Fellow nomination includes AICP certification and achieving excellence in professional practice, teaching and mentoring, research, and community service and leadership. The majority of the 2020 Class was nominated by one of the 25 APA Chapters. Several inductees were also nominated by six APA Divisions.

Congratulations to the 2020 College of Fellows

Cynthia Albright

Jerry Anthony

Alissa Barber Torres

Henry Bittaker

Mart Black

M. Rory Bolger

Peter Brown

Dee Caputo

Richard Carlisle

Jennifer Cowley

David Early

Mary Edwards

Kyle Ezell

Grace E. Fielder

Peter Flinker

Pete Fritz

Lucilla Fuller Marvel

Stephanie Garcia-Vause

Stanford Harvey

Jill Hegardt

Justin Hollander

Larry Hopper

John Iacoangeli

Paul Inghram

Bonnie Johnson

Michelle Jordan

Todd Kinskey

Mark Koplin

Diane Kushlan

Devin Lavigne

Michael Long

Kathleen McCabe

Gary Mitchell

Lorna Parkins

Alan Reynolds

Steven Sadwick

David Salazar

Wendy Shabay

Barbara Sheinberg

Scot Siegel

Veronica Soto

Jeff Speck

John Steinmetz

Arista Strungys

John Trawick

Stephen Tocknell

Elizabeth Via-Gossman

Daniel Van Abs

Paul Van Buskirk

Silvia Vargas

Celeste Werner

Susan Wood

David Woods


Usually, the class is formally inducted into the College during a ceremony at APA's National Planning Conference. Given the cancelation of NPC20 due to the current pandemic, the AICP Commission will be exploring other opportunities to fully recognize these individuals and their contributions to the planning profession.

The American Planning Association is an independent, not-for-profit educational organization that provides vital leadership in creating great communities for all. APA and its professional institute, the American Institute of Certified Planners, are dedicated to advancing the profession of planning, offering better choices for where and how people work and live. The more than 40,000 APA members work in concert with community residents, civic leaders, and business interests to create communities that enrich people's lives. Through its philanthropic work, APA's Foundation helps to reduce economic and social barriers to good planning. APA has offices in Washington, D.C., and Chicago. Learn more at

# # #


Roberta Rewers, APA, 312-786-6395;

March 24, 2020