Professional Development

Professional Development Officers (PDOs) are established in each chapter of the American Planning Association to facilitate the exam certification process and continuing education efforts. Your PDO is a critical information source, whether you're looking for information on upcoming training opportunities in your area or seeking additional help as you prepare for the AICP exam.

Looking for your Professional Development Officer?

Many chapters offer examination counseling (groups, one-to-one) to those preparing to take the AICP written examination. If you'd like help in preparing for the exam, please contact the PDO in your chapter area listed below.

Committee Member

Susan Alice Wood, AICP
RTD
1560 Broadway Ste 700
Denver, CO 80202-5140
(P)(303) 299-2467
(F)(303) 299-2452
susan.wood@rtd-denver.com

Committee Member

Denise Harris, AICP
VA
Denise@DMHplanning.com

Alabama Chapter

Benjamin T. Wieseman, AICP
Kps Group
2101 1st Ave N
Birmingham, AL 35203-4201
btwies@gmail.com

Arizona Chapter

Sandra K. Hoffman, AICP
City of Phoenix
200 W Washington St Fl 2
Current Planning Division
Phoenix, AZ 85003-1611
(P)(602) 495-0265
(F)(602) 534-4563
sandysite430@gmail.com

California Chapter

Terry M. Blount, AICP
City of Mountain View
500 Castro St
Mountain View, CA 94039
(P)650-903-6017
plannertothestars@yahoo.com

Colorado Chapter

Shelia C. Booth, AICP
APA Colorado Chapter
PO Box 49573
Colorado Springs, CO 80949
(P)303-495-6994
sbooth@apacolorado.org

Connecticut Chapter

Susan P. Westa, AICP
Connecticut Main Street Ctr.
c/o Eversource
P.O. Box 270
Hartford, CT 06141
(P)(860) 280-2032
susan@ctmainstreet.org

Florida Chapter

Henry F. Bittaker, AICP

(P)(561) 523-0678
hbittaker@aol.com

Georgia Chapter

Gary A. Cornell, FAICP

(P)(404) 431-9876
gary.cornell01@gmail.com

Idaho Chapter

Diane T. Kushlan, AICP
Kushlan Associates
PO Box 8463
Boise, ID 83707-2463
(P)(208) 433-9352
(F)(208) 343-4831
dkushlan@fiberpipe.net

Indiana Chapter

Frank L. Nierzwicki Jr., AICP
Indiana University
1315 W. Tenth Street
Bloomington, IN 47405
(P)(812) 855-7980
fnierzwi@yahoo.com

Kansas Chapter

Bonnie J. Johnson, AICP
University of Kansas
1465 Jayhawk Blvd., Room 317
Marvin Hall
Lawrence, KS 66045-7614
(P)(785) 864-7147
(F)(785) 864-5301
bojojohn@ku.edu

Louisiana Chapter

Sean T. Daly, AICP
Iteris, Inc
104 Hideaway Cove
Lafayette, LA 70508
(P)(337) 534-5031
seandaly@hotmail.com

Michigan Chapter

Amy Miller Jordan
Michigan Chapter of Apa
1919 W. Stadium Blvd, Suite 4
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
(P)(734) 913-2000
(F)(734) 913-2061
ajordan@planningmi.org

Minnesota Chapter

Elise Durbin, AICP
City of Minnetonka
14600 Minnetonka Blvd
Minnetonka, MN 55345-1502
(P)(952) 939-8200
bsuelfie@gmail.com

Minnesota Chapter

Jane Kansier, AICP
Minnesota Valley Transit Authority
100 East Highway 13
Burnsville, MN 55337
(P)952-230-1256
jkansier@mvta.com

Missouri Chapter

Michael L. Zeek, AICP
City of Maryland Heights
11911 Dorsett Road
Maryland Heights, MO 63043
(P)(314) 738-2232
(F)(314) 291-7457
mzeek@marylandheights.com

National Capital Area Chapter

Matthew Ladd, AICP
Arlington County
2100 Clarendon Blvd.
Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22201
(P)(703) 228-3521
mladd@arlingtonva.us

Nevada Chapter

Marco Velotta, AICP
City of Las Vegas
495 S Main St
Las Vegas, NV 89101
mvelotta@lasvegasnevada.gov

New Mexico Chapter

Mary L. Holton, AICP
City of Farmington
800 Municipal Drive
Farmington, NM 87401-2663
(P)(505) 599-1285
(F)(505) 599-1299
mholton@fmtn.org

New York Upstate Chapter

Arthur J. Buckley, AICP
Wyoming County Plngn & Dev
6470 Route 20A Ste #4
Perry, NY 14530
(P)(585) 237-4110
(F)(585) 237-4113
abuckley4@rochester.rr.com

Northern New England Chapter

Benjamin D. Frost, AICP
New Hampshire Housing Finance Authority
32 Constitution Drive
Bedford, NH 03110
(P)(603) 310-9361
(F)(603) 488-0893
bfrost@nhhfa.org

Oklahoma Chapter

James Wagner, AICP
INCOG
Two West Second Street
Suite 800
Tulsa, OK 74103
(P)(918) 579-9447
(F)(918) 579-9547
jwagner@incog.org

Pennsylvania Chapter

Susan S. Elks, AICP
Chester County PC
601 Westtown Road, Suite 270
Po Box 2747
West Chester, PA 19380
(P)(610) 344-6285
selks@chesco.org

South Carolina Chapter

Kendra Cobbs, AICP
City of Florence
324 W. Evans Street
Urban Planning & Devel
Florence, SC 29501
(P)(843) 665-2047 x1101
kcobbs@cityofflorence.com

Texas Chapter

Richard E. Luedke, AICP
City of Lewisville
151 W. Church Street
P.O. Box 299002
Lewisville, TX 75029-9002
(P)(972) 219-3456
rluedke@cityoflewisville.com

Virginia Chapter

Earl W. Anderson, AICP
York County Planning Division
PO Box 532
224 Ballard Street
Yorktown, VA 23690-0532
(P)(757) 890-3497
(F)(757) 890-4077
pdo.apavirginia@gmail.com

Western Central Chapter

W. Randall Johnson, AICP
Gallatin County Plng Dept.
311 W Main St Rm 108
Bozeman, MT 59715-4574
(P)(406) 582-3130
(F)(406) 582-3135
randy.johnson@gallatin.mt.gov

Committee Member

Glenn E. Larson, AICP
Chesterfield County Planning Dept.
PO Box 40
Chesterfield, VA 23832-0040
larsplan@gmail.com

Committee Member

Marissa Aho, AICP
Office of Mayor Eric Garcetti
200 Spring Street
Mail Stop 370
Los Angeles, CA 90012
(P)213-978-4606
marissaaho@gmail.com

Alaska Chapter

Laurie Cummings
HDR Alaska
2525 C St
Ste 305
Anchorage, AK 99503-2632
(P)(907) 644-2065
(F)(907) 644-2022
laurie.cummings@hdrinc.com

Arkansas Chapter

James P. Walden, AICP
Garver
4701 Northshore Dr.
North Little Rock, AR 72118
(P)(501) 372-3232
jpwalden@garverusa.com

California Chapter

Laura Murphy
Stefan/George Associates
1333 36th Street
Sacramento, CA 95816
(P)(916) 863-1362
nhe2011@live.com

Colorado Chapter

Tareq S. Wafaie, AICP
Clarion Associates
621 17th Street, Suite 2250
Denver, CO 80293
(P)(303) 830-2890 ex. 32
(F)(303) 860-1809
twafaie@clarionassociates.com

Delaware Chapter

James J. Galvin Jr., AICP
Dover/kent County Metropolitan Planning Organization
Po Box 383
Dover, DE 19903
(P)(302) 387-6028
JAMES.GALVIN@DOVERKENTMPO.ORG

Florida Chapter

Richard L. Perez, AICP
City of Lakeland
228 S Massachusetts Ave
Lakeland, FL 33801-5012
(P)(863) 834-6011
richard.perez@lakelandgov.net

Hawaii Chapter

Peter G. Flachsbart, AICP
University of Hawaii - Manoa
2424 Maile Way
Saunders 107
Honolulu, HI 96822
(P)(808) 956-8684
pflachsbart@hawaiiantel.net

Illinois Chapter

Trevor Dick, AICP
CMAP
233 South Wacker
Suite 800
Chicago, IL 60606
(P)312-386-8606
trevordick77@gmail.com

Iowa Chapter

Gary D. Taylor, AICP
Iowa State University
286 College Of Design
Dept. Community & Regional Planning
Ames, IA 50011
(P)(515) 290-0214
(F)(515) 294-5156
gtaylor@iastate.edu

Kentucky Chapter

Joshua T. Karrick, AICP
Bell Engineering
2480 Fortune Drive
Suite 350
Lexington, KY 40509
(P)(859) 278-5412
(F)859-278-2911
jkarrick@hkbell.com

Massachusetts Chapter

Kristin E. Kassner, AICP
Town of Burlington
25 Center Street
Burlington, MA 01803
(P)(781) 270-1645
kekassner@gmail.com

Michigan Chapter

Lynee L. Wells, AICP
Williams & Works
549 Ottawa Ave Nw
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
(P)(616) 224-1500
(F)(616) 224-1501
wells@williams-works.com

Minnesota Chapter

Rita Trapp, AICP
Hoisington Koegler Group, Inc.
123 N 3rd St Ste 100
Minneapolis, MN 55401-1659
(P)(612) 252-7135
(F)(612) 338-6838
rita@hkgi.com

Mississippi Chapter

Mohammad N. Chowdhury, AICP
Jackson State University URP
3825 Ridgewood Rd
Box 23
Jackson, MS 39211-6497
(P)601-979-1880
chowdhury.moe@gmail.com

National Capital Area Chapter

Andrea Lytle Peet, AICP

andrea@starcommunities.org

Nebraska Chapter

Christy Eichorn, AICP
Lincoln Lancaster County Plng
555 S 10th St Ste 213
Lincoln, NE 68508-2834
(P)(402) 441-7491
(F)(402) 441-6377
ceichorn@lincoln.ne.gov

New Jersey Chapter

Christopher A. Brown, AICP
City of Hoboken
94 Washington Street
Hoboken, NJ 07030
(P)(201) 239-6642
christopher.alex.brown@gmail.com

New York Metro Chapter

Fiona M. Akins, AICP
NYC Department of Parks & Recreation
The Arsenal, Central Park
New York, NY 10065
fionaakins@gmail.com

North Carolina Chapter

Lauren A. Blackburn, AICP
North Carolina DOT
1552 Mail Service Center
1 S. Wilmington Street
Raleigh, NC 27699-1552
(P)(919) 707-2601
lakblackburn@yahoo.com

Ohio Chapter

Jonathan Kyle Ezell, AICP
Ohio State University
275 W. Woodruff Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210-1135
(P)(614) 247-7479
(F)(614) 292-7106
ezell.5@osu.edu

Oregon Chapter

Jonathan T. Makler, AICP
Oregon Department of Transport
123 NW Flanders
Portland, OR 97209
(P)503-731-4753
plangineering@gmail.com

Rhode Island Chapter

Albert V. Ranaldi Jr., AICP
Town of Lincoln
100 Old River Rd
Lincoln, RI 02865-1332
(P)(401) 333-8433
(F)(401) 333-3648
aranaldi@lincolnri.org

Tennessee Chapter

Brett Roler, AICP
Downtown Memphis Comm.
114 N. Main Street
Memphis, TN 38103
(P)(901) 575-0574
(F)(901) 575-0541
roler@downtownmemphis.com

Utah Chapter

Max R. Johnson, AICP
Salt Lake County
2001 S State St # N3600
Salt Lake City, UT 84190-0001
(P)(385) 468-6699
(F)(801) 468-6674
mrjohnson@slco.org

Washington Chapter

Nancy E. Eklund, AICP
The Boeing Company
PO Box 3707
M.S. 46-86
Seattle, WA 98124
(P)(206) 495-1443
(F)(253) 840-6678
nancy.e.eklund@boeing.com

Wisconsin Chapter

Nancy Frank, AICP
University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
SARUP - Department of Urban Planning
PO Box 413
Milwaukee, WI 53201-0413
(P)(414) 229-5372
frankn@uwm.edu