September 28, 2010

APA Honors Sen. Thomas Carper

Sen. Carper (D-Del.) named Legislator of the Year by the American Planning Association for his commitment to good planning practices

WASHINGTON, DC — Sen. Thomas Carper (D-Del.) was selected by the American Planning Association as the 2010 Legislator of the Year. His outstanding leadership in the U.S. Senate exemplifies his strong commitment to good planning, environmental protection and transportation choices that help create communities of lasting value.

As Chairman of the Federal Financial Management, Government Information, Federal Services and International Security Subcommittee, Sen. Carper has been the leading champion in Congress for the Census Bureau. Maintaining access to such essential data is critical to good planning.

His unyielding work on climate change and on CLEAN-TEA has built a much-needed foundation for future comprehensive climate legislation.

"Sen. Carper recognizes that planning is essential to economic competitiveness and recovery," said Jason Jordan, APA's director of government affairs. "His efforts in Congress support planning that ensures communities will thrive and local leaders have the tools necessary to protection and enhance residents' quality of life."

Sen. Carper was previously recognized by the American Planning Association in 1999 as recipient of the Distinguished Leadership Award for an Elected Official, when he was then serving as Delaware's governor. This is the first time that a Legislator of the Year recipient has received multiple accolades from APA. It also illustrates Sen. Carper's long-standing commitment to improving our communities.

APA will present Sen. Carper with his 2010 Legislator of the Year award today, during a special luncheon as part of APA's Federal Policy and Program Briefing conference. The ceremony will begin at noon EDT in the Russell Senate Office Building.

APA's Legislator of the Year Award recognizes members of Congress who have excelled in advancing the interests of building more livable and competitive communities through planning. One representative and one senator are recognized annually.

Visit for more information about all of the 2010 award recipients.


Roberta Rewers, APA Public Affairs; 312-786-6395;
Emily Spain, Sen. Carper's Office; 202-224-2441