Planning May 2019

APA Chapter Presidents Council Awards and Planning Accreditation Board Award

APA Chapter Presidents Council Awards

Karen B. Smith Award for Overall Chapter Achievement

APA Texas Chapter

AWARDEE: APA Texas Chapter

GOAL: Develop and adopt a five-year action plan to shape the creation of livable and sustainable Texas communities.

IMPACT: Adopted the plan in November 2017 and developed six goals based on a membership survey, a workshop, and APA national goals; 75 percent of the plan is currently in progress, with noticeable enhancements to programs and services provided to APA Texas members.

Karen B. Smith Award for Outstanding Service To Members

AWARDEE: APA New York Metro Chapter's Diversity Committee

GOAL: Increase diversity and cultural competency within the planning profession and provide a resource for planners of different backgrounds in the New York Metro area to build meaningful connections and share ideas.

IMPACT: Created an active coalition of nearly 20 multiracial, multigender, intergenerational individuals in the New York Metro area actively promoting diversity and social equity in the planning profession through professional development, networking, and advocacy activities.

Karen B. Smith Award for Outstanding Outreach to the Community

AWARDEE: APA Florida Chapter

GOAL: Provide opportunities lost after the partial cancellation of the 2018 Florida Chapter conference due to Hurricane Irma.

IMPACT: Created free virtual conference that will offer additional learning and CM sessions to Florida Chapter conference registrants.

Leadership Award for Professional Development Officer Recognition


ABOUT: Board member, professional development officer, and chair of the Professional Development Committee of APA Oregon since 2016.

IMPACT: A collaborative approach transformed the PDC into a high-functioning and well-regarded component of APA Oregon, offering valuable professional development opportunities and fostering a productive, positive environment within the committee and joint efforts with other chapter committees.

Leadership Award for Chapter Volunteer Recognition

AWARDEE: Anthony LaColla, AICP

ABOUT: Sun Coast Section chair from 2006 to 2008, host section chair for the APA Florida chapter conference in 2010, chapter vice president for section affairs from 2012 to 2016, chapter treasurer from 2017 through 2018.

IMPACT: Helped APA Florida advance its goals and strategic operational plan over a decade of volunteer work; developed and completed a series of educational teaching guides for students K-12 while serving as the chapter treasurer.

Planning Accreditation Board Award

APA Chapter Presidents Council Awards and Planning Accreditation Board Award

2018 Outstanding Site Visitor Award

Fernando Costa, FAICP | Fort Worth, Texas

ABOUT: Served as a member of the Planning and Accreditation Board for three terms and as chair for two one-year terms; currently assistant city manager of Fort Worth, Texas, and a part-time faculty member at the University of Oklahoma; more than 30 years of planning experience.

IMPACT: Conducted six Planning Accreditation Board site visits and contributed invaluable knowledge and advice to planning programs and university administrators, educators, students, and alumni, as well as his PAB site visit team members, that have ensured high-quality education for future urban planners.