APA is governed by its Board of Directors, who are elected from among the membership of the Association. The Board is chaired by the APA President, and sets broad policy for the Association and governs its affairs. Day-to-day operations are managed by APA staff. Board members serve four-year terms. Terms are staggered, so half of the board is elected biennially. APA's Board has 13 members, as well as three Advisors, who are the elected leaders of the councils of our component groups, and advise the Board on matters related to Chapters, Divisions and Students.

Meet the Board

APA Board Member Biographies


Select APA Committees and Task Forces

If you would like more information about any of these committees or workgroups, or would like a current roster, please email getinvolved@planning.org.

  • APA Board of Directors
  • APA Board of Directors Executive Committee
  • Academic Membership Task Force
  • Amicus Curiae Committee
  • Audit Committee
  • Awards Task Force
  • Development Plan and Budget Committee
  • Education Task Force
  • Diversity Committee
  • Foundation Board
  • Governance Committee
  • Great Places in America Task Force
  • Leadership Development Task Force
  • Legislative and Policy Committee
  • Membership Committee
  • National Planning Conference Task Force
  • Nominating Committee
  • Planning Officials Committee
  • Research Agenda Task Force
  • Site Selection Committee
  • Water Working Group

APA BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND ADVISORS: Front row (l to r): Wendy Moeller, FAICP; Linda Amato, AICP; Ann Bagley, FAICP; Cynthia Bowen, FAICP; Carol Rhea, FAICP; Valerie Hubbard, FAICP; Wendy Shabay, AICP; Kara Drane, AICP. Back row (l to r): Shedrick Coleman; Shane Burkhardt, AICP; Kurt Christiansen, FAICP; Ellen Forthofer; Fleming El-Amin, AICP; Brian Campbell, FAICP; Rodger Lentz, AICP. Not pictured: Courtenay Mercer, AICP.